LICENSING PROCESS FOR ADULT FOSTER CARE
The process necessary to become a licensed Adult Foster care provider is governed by the Minnesota Department of Human Services. The rules and regulations are meant to protect the adults in foster care as well as promote their health and welfare. The county licensor is the individual responsible for explaining and assisting anyone that is interested in being licensed. There are a few different types of foster care available, depending on the type of client you serve and whether you live at the foster home. Which regulations for adult foster care apply to your home will depend on the type/set up of your adult foster care home. Minnesota Statute 245A – the Licensing Act, and Minnesota Rule 13 apply to all types of adult foster care homes. The following statute or rules may apply depending on your license type: Minnesota Rule parts 9555.550 to 9555.6265– the Adult Foster Care Rule, and Minnesota Statute 245D- Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Standards Act.
General Adult Foster Care licensing requirements and time-lines are, briefly, as follows:
Contact the county licensor (208-6600). After speaking with the licensor and you determine you would like to pursue licensure, you must submit the Minnesota Department of Human Services Family Systems Application. Letters will be sent to the references you have listed on your application. A background study must be completed on each person residing in your home age 13 and older or is planning to work in your home. The licensor will assist you with this process. When the Background study results have been completed and the reference letters have been returned the Licensor will contact you to set up a meeting to continue the licensing process.
During the first meeting the licensor will orientate you to the policies and procedures you will be required to develop and review other forms that are necessary for licensure. A State Fire Marshall Inspection is required of your home. All identified issues/concerns are required to be corrected before a license can be issued. The fee for the inspection is $50.00 made out to the City of Morris.
Rural residents are also required to have a water test done initially and annually thereafter.
The following reports will also be provided to for completion:
- Escape Plan of your home
- Social History information for each household member
- Pet Immunization Records
- Agreement between Provider and Agency
Three hours of orientation training will be provided by your county before a placement is made. Twelve hours of creditable training are required each year to maintain your license. Annually, or more if needed, the licensor will make a visit to your home. Your license will expire one year from when it is issued and a relicensing process will then need to be completed. It is similar to the initial licensing process but is usually shorter. Your policies and procedures, along with client specific forms you are required to complete or retain will be reviewed. This is also an excellent time to discuss any issues or concerns you may have.
Some of requirements may differ depending on the type of license you are requesting. You may also have additional/different requirements from the Department of Human Services HCBS Licensing Division if you plan to serve individuals who are on a state waiver program (excluding the Elderly Waiver at this time).
You can expect the entire licensing process to take anywhere from 3 – 6 months; dependent on your timeliness of paperwork completion any revisions needed to policies and procedures, the correction of any safety concerns, and the time to process reports. The licensor will make a recommendation to DHS within 20 working days of a completed application.